smithsonian job for latinos – gardener, really?

Posted: August 24, 2009 by passionateleader in adrenalina, Business, culture, hispanic, latino, People, Public Relations
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

So, one of our close friend came across this a while back…tell us what you think.

She was looking for employment with the government and went to USAJOBS.GOV.

Due to the fact, that she is an anthropologist and has worked with immigrant issues, she typed in “Latino” as part of her search criteria. What turned up next suprised us as well…take a look.

The only position that came back for the search word “Latino” was gardner.

Can you believe that!

Jobs for Latinos

http://jobsearch.usajobs.gov/search.aspx?lid=696&FedEmp=N&FedPub=Y&vw=d&re=0&caller=basic.aspx&pg=1&q=latino

We’re not going to blame anyone, but it seems that either the IT or HR department needs to seriously monitor these sort of mishaps. I’m just curious if any other search words would have generated the same result.

QUICK UPDATE – Went back today and there are more positions listed. For a minute there I thought gardener was the only position available.

Comments
  1. Adam says:

    so really the whole post was pointless, since it seems as though you caught it at a bad time?

    Breaking news: person looking for jobs finds only one, the one time they looked….

    stumble spam, and will be reported as such

  2. Maria says:

    I can’t believe this,
    such a shame.

    And Adam, I’m positive this wasn’t spam because either way the results are the same.

  3. I guess one thing that shouldn’t be overlooked is the simple fact that the keyword “Latino” gave the result of GARDNER.

    That’s it.

  4. Cool site, love the info.

  5. I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…:)

    -Bill-Bartmann

  6. I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read.. 🙂

    -Bill-Bartmann

  7. This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read.. <a href="http://wiki.hudson-ci.org/display/~bill-bartmann&quot;

    -Bill-Bartmann

  8. Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking your feeds too now, Thanks.

Leave a Reply

